Sofapaka FC President Elly Kalekwa has confirmed the exit of midfielder Lawrence Juma.

Juma terminated his contract with Batoto Ba Mungu and is now being linked with a move to FKFPL newbies Police FC.

Speaking to Citizen Digital, Kalekwa wished Juma well and insisted that the club will always come first.

“The team is bigger than anyone and we respect individual decisions, we don’t hold onto anybody, if someone chooses to leave then we have to grant them their wish,” Kalekwa said.

Kalekwa also took a swipe at Juma even as he exuded confidence that the current squad will get the job done for his side.

“You know Juma is not that big, he has not helped us win anything or even finish the league in better position, for instance last season we finished in Position 12, and he is not on the level of the likes of John Baraza who helped us lift the trophy, so we are still a stronger side without him,” he said.

ALSO READ: Midfield Maestro Lawrence Juma Dumps Sofapaka

Juma joined Sofapaka from Gor Mahia on 16 October, 2020 and immediately established himself as one of their star performers, winning the midfielder of the year award after a great 2020/21 campaign in the FKFPL that saw him score 16 goals and register 5 assists.

Sofapaka is however facing financial problems and this is said to be the major reason behind Juma’s decision to terminate his contract. Batoto Ba Mungu are also facing a transfer ban from FIFA after failing to pay their former players (Justin Mico and Moussa Omar) who reported them to the World Football Governing Body.

Despite signing new players, Sofapaka cannot field them for matches due to the ban.

The club signed Hansel Ochieng and Said Tsuma from AFC Leopards, Dan Guya from Bandari, Jacob Onyango from St Anthony’s Boys High School and Kelvin Oduor from Nairobi Stima.

Juma’s exit follows those of Moubarak Aigba, Isaac Mitima, Mohammed Kilume and Brian Magonya. Defender Michael Kibwage has also been linked with a move away from the club.

Should he officially join Police, Juma will link up with Clifton Miheso, John Mark Makwatta and Duncan Otieno.