Image result for kenya premier league trophy

The Kenya Premier League served up one of the most thrilling title races last season. Record Champions Gor Mahia eventually claimed the title but not without a very impressive run for their money from coastal based side Bandari FC.

Gor Mahia won 21 matches, drew eight and lost four to amass a total of 71 points hence locking out Bandari FC and Sofapaka who also had an impressive run but could not keep up with Kogallo’s pace.

Next season promises to be even more competitive with two new faces set to join the race for Kenya’s most prized football competition. They are Kisumu AllStars and Moneybags Wazito FC.

Let’s now have a look at the teams that promise to light up the KPL next season and pose a major threat to others with regards to the title.

Gor Mahia

Image result for gor mahia champions

The record Champions made it 3 consecutive titles last season and will be even hungry for more next season. K’Ogallo will, however, be without 2 very important players next season.

Talismanic striker Jacques Tuyisenge and midfield Maestro Francis Kahata left the club and Gor Mahia is already in the market looking for suitable replacements.

That aside, the defending Champions are still miles ahead of most teams in the league and it will still take a lot of effort to knock them out off their throne.

The Club has so far signed 8 new players as they prepare for next season that will also see them take part in Continental football.

The newly acquired players are; Dickson Ambundo, David Mapigano, Curtis Wekesa, Dennis Oalo, Abdalla Shira, Tobias Otieno, Elvis Ronack and Maurice ‘Fadha’ Ojwang who completed his switch from Western Stima on Tuesday.

Wazito FC

Image result for wazito fc champions

The Kenya Premier League moneybags Wazito FC cruised to the National Super League title which earned them automatic promotion to the Kenyan top-flight league.

The club has already signed 8 new players this transfer window and is circling around Gor Mahia’s captain Harun Shakava and Burundi International Karim Nizigiyimana who is also a former Kogallo Defender.

The new arrivals at Wazito FC are: Derrick Otanga, Joshua Otieno and Kelvin Omondi from Sony Sugar FC, Pistone Mutamba from Sofapaka, Gad Mathews from Kariobangi Sharks, Bernard Ochieng from Vihiga United, Kenya U17 keeper Bixente Otieno and Former Gor Mahia and Rwandese defender Abouba Sibomana.

Led by their charismatic and controversial owner Ricardo Badoer of Badoer Investments, Wazito intent next season is clear: winning the Kenya Premier League crown. Be sure the club will do anything in their power to make that dream come true.

Bandari FC

Image result for bandari fc champions

Runners up last season, Bandari Fc have made serious strides under Bernard Mwalala. The coastal based side was one of the few teams that beat Champions Gor Mahia.

Bandari also claimed the FKF shield cup to cap off a memorable 2019 season. Mwalala’s side has made very impressive signings this transfer window and has held on to their best players. They will definitely give it another go next season and maybe this time they could go all the way.

The Club recently beefed up its squad further by acquiring the services of Nairobi Stima midfielder Alex ‘Dunga’ Luganji.

Dunga’s arrival took the number of new faces at Bandari to three. The other two are Cliff Kasuti who joined from Sofapaka and Danson Chetambe from Zoo FC.

Bandari is also in the market for a goalkeeper who will replace Farouq Shikalo who joined Tanzanian Giants Yanga SC

Who do you think will claim the Kenya Premier League crown next season? Leave your thoughts in the comments section below.