AFCON JANUARY 2021: African giants Nigeria and Egypt are pooled in the same group as Morocco face Ghana and Algeria take on Ivory Coast

Comoros and Gambia will be participating in 24-team continental tournament for the first time in the nations history.

The draw for the postponed 2021 Africa Cup of Nations {AFCON} was done in Yaounde, Cameroon back in Tuesday 17, August 2021. This is how the teams are pooled:

Group A:

  • Cameroon{Host}
  • Burkina Faso
  • Ethiopia
  • Cape Verde

Group B:

  • Senegal
  • Zimbabwe
  • Guinea
  • Malawi

Group C:

  • Morocco
  • Ghana
  • Comoros
  • Gabon

Group D:

  • Nigeria
  • Egypt
  • Sudan
  • Guinea-Bissau

Group E:

  • Algeria
  • Sierra Leone
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Ivory Coast

Group F:

  • Tunisia
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Gambia

The 33rd  Africa’s elite edition of the continental tournament is set to kick-off from 9 January to 6 February 2022 in Cameroon. The tournament was postponed from June 30th 2021 to January 2022 after outbreak of the Covid-19 which disrupted the initial plans and the normal tournament’s calendar.

The opening match of the tournament will be hosts {Cameroon vs Burkina Faso} and final will be played at the newly decorated Olembe  Stadium Yaounde which has a maximum capacity of 60, 000. Five cities  that is Douala, Yaounde, Bafoussam, Garoua and Limbe will host the matches.

In the tournament’s history, Egypt is the most successful nation having won the title seven times while the host Cameroon has five titles to his name.

Comoros Island who finished second in Group G that consisted of Kenya and Gambia who finished top of Group D alongside Gabon will be the tournament’s newcomers

All participating teams; Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Gabon, Ghana, Algeria, Egypt, Nigeria, Senegal, Comoros, Gambia, Ethiopia, Guinea Bissau, Guinea, Malawi ,Mali, Morocco, Sudan, Zimbabwe, Sierra Leone, Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Cape Verde, Mauritania and Ivory Coast.

Who will succeed Algeria?