Coach Migne overseeing a Training Session at the Kasarani Stadium//Photo by FKF

Harambee Stars head coach Sebastien Migne has named his travelling squad to Tanzania ahead of Kenya’s Africa Nations Championships Qualifier against the Taifa Stars.

Coach Migne’s list has seen some of the players who got a late call up like Johnstone Omurwa make the cut.

A number of players like Musa Masika have also made it to the National team final list for the first time and will be looking foward to make their debuts in National colours.

Photo//Courtesy of FKF

Sofapaka’s Dennis Odhiambo has been named Captain.

Coach Migne had earlier rued the transfer of experienced players to foreign league in the current transfer window ahead of the CHAN Showpiece in Bongoland.

Migne will miss the services of midfielder Francis Kahata and goalkeeper Farouk Shikalo who have joined Tanzanian giants Simba SC and Young Africans respectively.

He will also be without Sofapaka FC striker John Avire, who is at the centre of a transfer saga. Winger Paul Were has gone missing and nobody knows where he is.

Photo//Courtesy of FKF

Coach Migne is however upbeat that his charges will put up a good show in Tanzania.

“We have tried to prepare well for the qualifiers. This is totally a new team because we have lost at least half the team in the transfer market. Paul Were is not there also Farouk (Shikalo). We need to find a solution. I hope we will have a good answer in a few days. We have lost a lot of players. It will be difficult, but a good opportunity for others like young (Musa) Masika to show their quality,” Said Migne as quoted by Nation Sports.

The team jets out to Tanzania on Saturday ahead of the first leg set to be played on Sunday, July 28, 2019. The return leg has been slated for Sunday, August 4, 2019, in Nairobi.

Final CHAN Squad


James Saruni (Ulinzi Stars), John Oyemba (Kariobangi Sharks)


Johnstone Omurwa (Mathare United), David Owino (Mathare United), Benard Ochieng (Wazito), Mike Kibwage (KCB), Joash Onyango (Gor Mahia)


Duke Abuya (Kariobangi Sharks), Whyvone Isuza (AFC Leopards), Dennis Odhiambo (Sofapaka) ©, Kenneth Muguna (Gor Mahia), Ibrahim Shambi (Ulinzi Stars), Musa Masika (Wazito), Teddy Osok (Wazito), Abdalla Hassan (Bandari), Samuel Onyango (Gor Mahia), Cliffton Miheso (Kenya Police), Patillah Omoto (Kariobangi Sharks)


Sydney Lokale (Kariobangi Sharks), Enosh Ochieng (Ulinzi Stars), Piston Mutamba (Wazito), Nicholas Kipkirui (Gor Mahia)