Image result for OLIECH CAF
Dennis Oliech Celeberates After Scoring Against Zamalek in a CAF Confederations Match//Photo by Citizen Digital

Kenya Premier League Champions Gor Mahia have named a strong side consisting of 25 players for their upcoming CAF Champions League Campaign.

Kogallo will be aiming to break into the monied stages of the Champions League after narrowly missing out last time after going down 0-2 against Nigeria’s Lobi Stars in Enugu, Nigeria.

Gor had won the first leg of this first round tie 3-1 in Nairobi, but could not defend their two-goal margin, eventually crashing out on away goals rule after the teams tied 3-3 on aggregate.

Gor will begin their Champions League journey against Aigle Noir CS who bagged the 2018/19 Burundi Premier League title with 68 points from 30 matches. The aggregate winner of the first round will meet either USM Algers of Algeria or Niger’s SONIDEP in the second round.

Gor Mahia’s squad includes seven newly signed players. They are; David Mapigano, Maurice Ojwang, Tobias Otieno, Curtis Wekesa, Dickson Ambundo, Gislain Yikpe Gnamien and Francis Afriyie.

Gor Mahia’s New Signings Gislain Yikpe Gnamien (Left) and Francis Afriyie (Right) At a Training Session//Photo Courtesy

Some new players have also been overlooked. They include Elvis Ronack, Dennis Oalo, Abdalla Shira and Kennedy Otieno.

Veteran Dennis Oliech has made the cut as he will be expected to bring in his experience at the continental level.

Ahead of the CAF campaign, Stand in coach Patrick Odhiambo is upbeat that he will help steer the team towards getting the desired results.

“This team has values and way of doing things. There are also clearly defined targets and expectations which i must work to achieve. I’m confident of steering the club in every tournament and shape the team to produce the desired results. I’m equal to the task,” Said Odhiambo.

Gor Mahia CAF CL squad

Goalkeepers: Fredrick Odhiambo, David Mapigano, Boniface Oluoch

Defenders: Wellington Ochieng, Philemon Otieno, Shafik Batambuze, Geoffrey Ochieng, Joachim Oluoch, Joash Onyango, Charles Momanyi, Maurice Ojwang.

Midfielders: Ernest Wendo, Tobias Otieno, Kenneth Muguna, Curtis Wekesa, Boniface Omondi, Lawrence Juma, Samuel Onyango.

Forwards: Dennis Oliech, Nicholas Kipkirui, Dickson Ambundo, Gislain Yikpe Gnamien, Francis Afriyie.